Select Page

History and Facts of Florida Counties

The Florida Territory was organized on March 30, 1821. The State of Florida was created as the 27th state on March 3, 1845. It has 67 Counties. The State of Florida is bordered by Georgia and Alabama.

List of Florida Counties

Florida is divided into 67 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Florida Counties

Florida has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Florida counties no longer exist:

?? County, Florida

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

Map of Florida County Boundary Changes from 1821 to 1997

This Interactive Map of Florida Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Florida in 1821 to 1997.

Fun Facts about Florida Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Florida.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Florida.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Florida.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Florida.

Facts for Florida Counties and Cities

Florida’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Jacksonville, Miami, Tampa, St. Petersburg, Orlando, Hialeah, Tallahassee, Fort Lauderdale, Port Saint Lucie and Pembroke Pines