Select Page

History and Facts of Wisconsin Counties

Wisconsin Counties – TWisconsin Territory was created by an act of the United States Congress on April 20, 1836. The new territory initially included all of the present day states of Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Iowa , as well as parts of North Dakota and South Dakota.

The State of Wisconsin was created as the 30th state on May 29, 1848. States bordering Wisconsin are MinnesotaMichiganIowa and Illinois.

Wisconsin has 72 Counties.

List of Wisconsin Counties

Wisconsin is divided into 72 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Wisconsin Counties

Wisconsin has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Wisconsin counties no longer exist:

?? County, Wisconsin

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Bad Ax County: Formed on March 1, 1851. Renamed Vernon County in 1862
  • Dallas County: Formed in 1859. Renamed Barron County in 1874
  • Gates County: Formed in 1901 from Chippewa County. Renamed Rusk County in 1905
  • La Pointe County: Formed in 1845 from St. Croix County. Renamed Bayfield County in 1866
  • New County: Formed in 1879 from Oconto County. Renamed to Langlade County in 1881

Map of Wisconsin County Boundary Changes from 1790 to 1961

This Interactive Map of Wisconsin Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Wisconsin from 1790-1961.

Fun Facts about Wisconsin Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1818 the first Wisconsin counties were formed. They were Brown and Crawford Counties. The last county to be formed was Menominee County in 1961.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Wisconsin.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Wisconsin.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Wisconsin.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Wisconsin.

Facts for Wisconsin Counties and Cities

Wisconsin’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Milwaukee, Madison; Green Bay, Kenosha, Racine, Appleton, Waukesha, Oshkosh, Eau Claire and Janesville