Select Page

History and Facts of Massachusetts Counties

Massachusetts Counties – The State of Massachusetts was founded as the 6th state on February 6, 1788. States bordering Massachusetts are ConnecticutNew HampshireNew YorkRhode Island and Vermont. Massachusetts contains 14 counties.

List of Massachusetts Counties

Massachusetts is divided into 14 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Massachusetts Counties

Massachusetts has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Massachusetts counties no longer exist:

?? County, Massachusetts

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Cornwall County: Was a county of the former Province of New York, established on September 5, 1665 from 25,100 Square Miles of land that had been granted to the Duke of York in modern Maine. As established, the grant ran all the way from the St. Lawrence River to the Atlantic Ocean,and produced what today is most of Aroostook, Piscataquis, Washington, Hancock, Penobscot, Waldo, Knox, Lincoln, Kennebec, Somerset, and Sagadahoc Counties. On October 7, 1673, 200 Square Miles of this grant along the border with then existing Massachusetts was partitioned to form Devonshire, Massachusetts. The remainder of this grant was lost to the Abnaki Indians in a war in the Autumn of 1675.
    Cornwall County was recreated on November 1, 1683, conforming to the original grant, still part of New York. Cornwall continued unchanged until the Spring of 1687, when Cornwall was transferred to the expanded Dominion of New England. Cornwall County was transferred to Massachusetts in 1692 and called Yorkshire. Much of this region became part of Maine when that state was admitted in 1820.
  • Devonshire County: District of Maine, Massachusetts Bay Colony was a short-lived county formed during the colonial territorial disputes between the Province of Massachusetts and the Province of Maine. The county existed from 1674 to 1675.
  • Dukes County: Dukes County, New York was formed on November 1, 1683 by New York from the Elizabeth Islands, Martha’s Vineyard, and Nantucket Island, all beyond the eastern end of Long Island in the Province of New York. It was formed at the same time as Kings County, Queens County and Dutchess County, New York. The entire county was transferred to the newly formed Province of Massachusetts Bay, where it formed Dukes County and Nantucket County.
  • Norfolk County: One of the original four counties created in the Massachusetts Bay Colony. The county existed from 1643 to 1679. In 1680 the towns of this county were divided between Essex County, Massachusetts and the newly formed state of New Hampshire so that the county ceased to exist. The former Norfolk County is often referred to as “Old Norfolk County.” A new county was established as Norfolk County, Massachusetts from most of the southern portion of Suffolk County in 1793.
  • York County: A county in what is now Maine. In 1760, it was divided into three counties: York, Cumberland and Lincoln counties. In 1778, the Continental Congress divided the District of Maine, the northernmost of three districts in Massachusetts.

Map of Massachusetts County Boundary Changes from 1683 to 1947

This Interactive Map of Massachusetts Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Massachusetts from 1683 to 1947.

Fun Facts about Massachusetts Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1643 the first Missouri counties were formed. They were EssexMiddlesex and Suffolk counties. The last county to be formed was Hampden County in 1812.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Massachusetts.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Massachusetts.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Massachusetts.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Massachusetts.

Facts for Massachusetts Counties and Cities

Massachusetts’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Boston, Worcester, Springfield, Lowell, Cambridge, New Bedford, Brockton, Quincy, Lynn and Fall River