Select Page

History and Facts of Vermont Counties

Vermont Counties – There were only four Vermont counties from 1772 to 1777, Cumberland, Charlotte, Albany and Gloucester. Although there were many New Hampshire towns in those counties, they were considered to be part of New York, politically. The records for Gloucester County have been published.

Bennington and Cumberland counties were founded in 1777, but Cumberland county ceased to exist in 1781. At that time, it was split into Orange, Windsor and Windham counties. Meanwhile, Rutland County was formed in part of what was Bennington County.

The Vermont Republic was organized in January 1777. The State of Vermont was created as the 14th state on March 4, 1791. Vermont borders MassachusettsNew HampshireNew York and Canada.

Today, Vermont is divided into 14 counties. Counties don’t have much meaning in Vermont politically.

In 1779 the first Vermont county was formed was Bennington County and the last county to be formed was Lamoille County in 1835.

List of Vermont Counties

Vermont is divided into 14 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Vermont Counties

Vermont has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

At least thirty-two counties that were established by Vermont law no longer exist. These defunct counties were either (1) Judicial counties, (2) Counties established by declaration of the Constitutional Convention of 1868-69, (3) Counties established by legislative act but never organized and later abolished by legislative act (4) Counties established outside the present boundaries of Vermont or (5) Counties whose names have been changed.

The below Vermont counties no longer exist:

?? County, Vermont

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Cumberland County: Originally a New York county, it went out of existence as a New York entity in 1777 when Vermont became independent. Land that had been in Cumberland and Gloucester counties, N.Y., then fell under Cumberland County, Vermont, jurisdiction. Cumberland County, Vermont, was abolished in 1781 when WindhamWindsor, and Orange counties were formed.
  • Jefferson County: Formed in 1810; renamed Washington, 1814.

Map of Vermont County Boundary Changes from 1764 to 1895

This Interactive Map of Vermont Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Vermont from 1764-1895.

Fun Facts about Vermont Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1779 the first Vermont county was formed was Bennington County and the last county to be formed was Lamoille County in 1835.

The last county to be formed was Daggett County on March 04, 1919.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Vermont.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Vermont.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Vermont.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Vermont.

Facts for Vermont Counties and Cities

Vermont’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Burlington, Essex, South Burlington, Colchester, Rutland, Bennington, Brattleboro Milton, Hartford, Springfield, Barre, Williston and Middlebury