Select Page

History and Facts of Maine Counties

Maine Counties – The District of Maine (Part of Massachusetts) was organized on 1778. The State of Maine was created as the 16rd state on March 15, 1820. States bordering Maine are New Hampshire in the west and Canada to the north. It has 16 Counties.

Before statehood, Maine was officially part of the state of Massachusetts and was called the District of Maine. Maine was granted statehood on March 15, 1820 as part of the Missouri Compromise. Nine of the sixteen counties had their borders defined while Maine was still part of Massachusetts, and hence are older than the state itself.

List of Maine Counties

Maine is divided into 16 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Maine Counties

Maine has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Maine counties no longer exist:

?? County, Maine

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Devonshire County: Devonshire County, District of Maine, Massachusetts Bay Colony was a short-lived county formed during the colonial territorial disputes between the Province of Massachusetts and the Province of Maine. The county existed from 1674 to 1675.
  • Yorkshire County: created in 1639 from Colonial Lands,. It was renamed renamed York County in 1652

Map of Maine County Boundary Changes from 1713 to 1913

This Interactive Map of Maine Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Maine from 1713-1913.

Fun Facts about Maine Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1652 the first Maine county was formed. They were YorkCounty. The last county to be formed was Knox County in 1860.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Maine.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Maine.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Maine.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Maine.

Facts for Maine Counties and Cities

Maine’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Portland, Lewiston, Bangor, South Portland, Auburn, Biddeford, Sanford, Brunswick, Augustaand Scarborough