Select Page

History and Facts of Montana Counties

Montana Counties – The Montana Territory was organized on May 26, 1864. The State of Montana was created as the 41st state onNovember 8, 1889. States that border Montana are North DakotaIdahoWyomingSouth DakotaBritish Columbia, Canada  and Alberta, Canada to the north. Montana has 56 Counties.

List of Montana Counties

Montana is divided into 56 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Montana Counties

Montana has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Montana counties no longer exist:

?? County, Montana

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Big Horn County, Montana: created by the Territorial Legislature in 1865, renamed Custer in 1877
  • Edgerton County, Montana: created by the Territorial Legislature in 1865, renamed Lewis and Clark County in 1867

Map of Montana County Boundary Changes from 1848 to 1950

This Interactive Map of Montana Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Montana from 1848-1950.

Fun Facts about Montana Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1799 the first two Montana counties were formed. They were Adams and Jefferson Counties. The last county to be formed was Humphreys County in 1918.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Montana.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Montana.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Montana.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Montana.

Facts for Montana Counties and Cities

Montana’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Billings, Missoula, Great Falls, Bozeman, Butte-Silver Bow, Helena, Kalispell, Havre, Anaconda–Deer Lodge County and Miles City