Select Page

History and Facts of New Hampshire Counties

New Hampshire Counties – The Province of New Hampshire was organized on 1029. The State of New Hampshire was created as the 9th state on June 21, 1788. New Hampshire borders MaineMassachusettsVermont and Canada. New Hampshire has 10 Counties.

List of New Hamshire Counties

New Hamshire is divided into 10 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct New Hamshire Counties

New Hamshire has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below New Hamshire counties no longer exist:

?? County, New Hamshire

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Norfolk County, Massachusetts Colony (1643–1679) – became Essex County, Massachusetts and the entire state of New Hampshire.

Map of New Hamshire County Boundary Changes from 1764 to 1874

This Interactive Map of New Hamshire Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of New Hamshire from 1764-1874.

Fun Facts about New Hamshire Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in New Hamshire.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in New Hamshire.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in New Hamshire.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in New Hamshire.

Facts for New Hamshire Counties and Cities

New Hamshire’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Manchester, Nashua, Concord, Derry, Dover, Rochester, Salem, Merrimack, Hudson, Londonderry and Keene