Select Page

History and Facts of Nebraska Counties

Nebraska Counties – The Nebraska Territory, was organized on May 30, 1854. The State of Nebraska was created as the 37th state on March 1, 1867. States that border Nebraska are ColoradoIowaNebraskaMissouriSouth Dakota and Wyoming.

Nebraska has 93 Counties.

List of Nebraska Counties

Nebraska is divided into 93 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Nebraska Counties

Nebraska has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Nebraska counties no longer exist:

?? County, Nebraska

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Blackbird County was created on March 16, 1855 from Nebraska Territory. It was abolished in 1889, area formed as Thurston in 1889.
  • Calhoun County was created on March 14, 1856 from Lancaster County. It was renamed to Saunders County in 1862.
  • Emmet County was created on 18 Feb 1867 renamed from L’Eau Qui Court, renamed Knox 1873
  • Forney County was created on March 23, 1854 from Nebraska Territory. it was renamed to Nemaha County in 1856.
  • Jackson County was created March 16, 1855 from Jones county. On January 26, 1856 the County lost all territory to the creation of  Filmore County.
  • Jones County was created November 23, 1854 from non-county area. On 16 March 16, 1855 the county lost area to creation of Clay County, Jackson County, Johnston County, Saline County, and York County. The County was eliminated on February 18, 1867 and remaining area merged into Jefferson County.
  • Greene County was created on 1855 from Cass and Pierce Counties. It was renamed to Seward County in 1862.
  • Izard County was created on November 23, 1854 from Nebraska Territory. It was renamed Stanton County in 1862
  • L’Eau Qui Court County was created on 10 Feb 1857 from Nebraska Territory and renamed Emmett County in 1867
  • McNeale County was created on 1855 from Burt County. It was abolished in 1856 and became part of Madison County
  • Old Pierce County was created on November 23, 1854, it was renamed to Otoe County in 1855.
  • Shorter County was created on January 7, 1860 Nebraska Territory renamed Lincoln 1861
  • West County was created on 13 Jan 1860 Nebraska Territory renamed Holt 1862

Map of Nebraska County Boundary Changes from 1854 to 1925

This Interactive Map of Nebraska Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Nebraska from 1854-1925.

Fun Facts about Nebraska Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Nebraska.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Nebraska.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Nebraska.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Nebraska.

Facts for Nebraska Counties and Cities

Nebraska’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Grand Island, Kearney, Fremont, Hastings, North Platte, Norfolk and Columbus