Select Page

History and Facts of Washington Counties

Washington Counties – The first counties were created from unorganized territory in 1845. Eight of the counties were created by Oregon governments prior to the organization of Washington Territory, 26 were created during Washington’s territorial period, and five were created after Washington became a state.

The Territory of Washington was an organized on March 2, 1853, when it split from Oregon Territory. On March 4, 1863, the Idaho Territory was split off.

The State of Washington was admitted the union as the 42nd state on November 11, 1889. Washington currently has 39 Counties.

States bordering Washington are IdahoOregon and Canada.

List of Washington Counties

Washington is divided into 39 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Washington Counties

Washington has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Washington counties no longer exist:

?? County, Washington

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • Chehalis County – Formed in 1854 (renamed Grays Harbor, 1915) Thurston.
  • Slaughter County – formed in 1857 and renamed Kitsap County in 1857.
  • Sawamish County – formed in 1854 and renamed Mason County in 1864.
  • Spokane County (old) – formed in 1859, abolished and became part of Stevens County in 1864; In 1879 part of this county was set off as Present Spokane County

Map of Washington County Boundary Changes from 1843 to 1915

This Interactive Map of Washington Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Washington from 1843-1915.

Fun Facts about Washington Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1845 the first Washington counties were formed was Lewis County and the last county to be formed was Grays Harbor County in 1915.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Washington.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Washington.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Washington.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Washington.

Facts for Washington Counties and Cities

Washington’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Seattle, Spokane, Tacoma, Vancouver, Bellevue, Everett, Kent, Yakima, Renton and Spokane Valley