Select Page

History and Facts of Tennessee Counties

Tennessee Counties –  In 1763, when the French and Indian Wars ended, Great Britain took over the region.

From 1784 to 1787 the “state” of Franklin was formed, but when area settlers were allowed to be North Carolina representatives Franklin was disbanded.

The territory to the Ohio River’s south was officially organized by Congress in 1790.

Established on June 1, 1796 the State of Tennessee entered the union as the 16th state. Tennessee contains 95 Counties. Tennessee is bordered by Virginia and Kentucky to the north, North Carolina to the east, AlabamaMississippi, and Georgia to the south, and Missouri and Arkansas to the west.

The Dakota Territory was created on March 2, 1861. Established on November 2, 1889 the State of Tennessee entered the union as the 40th state.

In 1777 the first Tennessee counties were formed. The First was Washington County and the last county to be formed was Chester County in 1879.

List of Tennessee Counties

Tennessee is divided into 95 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct Tennessee Counties

Tennessee has counties that no longer are in existence. A lot of these counties were established and disbanded within the 19th century; county borders have modified very little since 1900 in the vast most of states.

The below Tennessee counties no longer exist:

?? County, Tennessee

Created ? from ?. It was abolished ? and re-established as ? County on ?.

  • The Lost State of Franklin – A short-lived attempt to create a new state in the trans-Appalachian settlement of present-day East Tennessee.
  • Spencer County: Formed in 1785 from Sullivan County and renamed Hawkins County in 1786
  • Tennessee County: Created in 1788 from Davidson County. It was abolished and divided into Montgomery and Robertson Counties. Records now located in Robertson County. County Seat was Clarksville
  • Wayne County: There was an earlier but a whole separate Wanye County which is included in Present day Carter County and part of Johnson County. It was establish in 1785 under the State of Franklin but was abolished in 1788.
  • James County: Formed in 1870 from Hamilton and Bradley Counties and abolished in 1919 (ended in bankruptcy in 1919) and merged with Hamilton County. All records located in Hamilton County. County seat was Ooltewah).

Map of Tennessee County Boundary Changes from 1777 to 1985

This Interactive Map of Tennessee Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Tennessee from 1777-1985.

Fun Facts about Tennessee Counties

County Name Facts

The County names:

  • 0 of them named for Native American words or people,

Counties by Year

In 1777 the first Tennessee counties were formed. The First was Washington County and the last county to be formed was Chester County in 1879.

  • ? County was the first county created on ?.
  •  The last county to be formed was ? County on ?.

Facts for County Size

  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the largest county in Tennessee.
  • ? County (000 sq mi) is the smallest county in Tennessee.

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • ? County (000) is the most populated county in Tennessee.
  • ? County (000) is the least populated county in Tennessee.

Facts for Tennessee Counties and Cities

Tennessee’s 10 largest cities (2010) are:

  1. Birmingham (000) is in ? County and ? Counties
  2. Memphis, Nashville – Davidson County, Knoxville, Chattanooga, Clarksville, Murfreesboro, Jackson, Johnson City, Franklin and Bartlett