Select Page

History and Facts of New Jersey Counties

New York Counties – The Province of New Jersey, was established in 1664 and disestablished in 1776. The State of New Jersey was created as the 3rd state on December 18, 1787. New Jersey has 62 Counties. States the border New Jersey are New YorkPennsylvania and Delaware.

List of New Jersey Counties

New Jersey is divided into 21 counties.

List of Old Former / Extinct New Jersey Counties

New Jersey has no counties that are Extinct.

Map of New Jersey County Boundary Changes from 1683 to 1928

This Interactive Map of New Jersey Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of New Jersey from 1683-1928.

Fun Facts about New Jersey Counties

Counties by Year

Facts for County Size

Facts for County Population (2017 Est.)

  • Bergen County (905,116) is the most populated county in New Jersey.
  • Salem County (66,083) is the least populated county in New Jersey.

Facts for New Jersey Counties and Cities

New Jersey’s 10 largest cities (2019) are:

  1. Newark (282,803) is in Essex County
  2. Jersey City (265,932) is in Hudson County
  3. Paterson (147,890) is in Passaic County
  4. Elizabeth (129,363) is in Union County
  5. Toms River (88,707) is in Ocean County
  6. Clifton (82,776) is in Passaic County
  7. Trenton (84,867) is in Mercer County
  8. Camden (75,550) is in Camden County
  9. Passaic (68,982) is in Passaic County
  10. Union City (69,815) is in Hudson County